Attacking something (Inform 7)

I am very new with Inform 7 and I am trying to make it so you enter a sort of attack sequence with the animal. So far this is what I have but you always win. Do I need the ATTACK extension?

In the basement is a zombie. The zombie is an animal. "It is ugly."
Instead of attacking zombie:
	say "You attacked the zombie.....[line break]";
	say "And won!";
move zombie to Graveyard.

Help please!

What do you want to happen? Purely random combat is possible - take a look at the “Randomness” section (8.18 in my documentation). On the other hand, it can be frustrating to the player. Do you want the zombie to win unless the player has something?

I think the ATTACK extension is definitely worth looking at if you’re writing a combat intensive game and randomness appeals to you, but for most scenarios, it’s probably not worth it. (Also, since you’re quite new to Inform, you may want to wrestle one megabeast at a time. ATTACK is relatively straightforward, but it’s not exactly plug and play, especially if the defaults aren’t quite your thing.)

Here’s a way to introduce a little bit of randomness to the encounter, if that’s what you want.

[code]The Basement is a room. The Graveyard is a room.

In the basement is a zombie. The zombie is an animal. The description of the zombie is “It is ugly.”

Instead of attacking zombie:
if a random chance of 1 in 2 succeeds:
say “You attacked the zombie…[line break]”;
say “And won!”;
move zombie to Graveyard;
otherwise:
say “You attacked the zombie, but lost.”;
move player to Graveyard;[/code]

Thanks for the code but when I paste it I get this: