Ask and Tell Topics

Hi, I have a quick question that’s probably already been answered multiple times. I’m trying to make the parser’s syntax a little less… computer-like on ask / tell. For example, I can have a topic like:

Tell someone about “x”.

But, if I want to ‘tell someone a joke’, I don’t want to ‘tell someone about joke’, and I would also like it to recognize ‘tell joke to someone’. I had the idea of making ‘joke’ a sort of object, hidden in scope, to clear up the non-existence of it, but that seems inelegant and will create a lot more programming.

So, is there a good way to add syntax changes that do the same thing?

Anyway, I’m pretty new to Inform 7, but IT IS AWESOME. I’ve been monkeying around with IF since 1995 or so, and the development systems back then had a limited amount of rooms, flags, etc. The freedom and hidden complexity is of I7 keeps shocking me. It’s so much fun to develop in this system.

Anyway, thanks for any help!

You can add some additional “understand” lines of code to help you enable different ways to use the same command.

Try these for starters:

Understand "tell [someone] about a/the [text]" as telling it about. Understand "tell [text] to [someone]", "tell a/the [text] to [someone]" as telling it about (with nouns reversed).
The “a/the” part will ensure that players will get results whether they type “tell him a joke” or “tell him the joke”. Also, the “with nouns reversed” part of the second line is important when you switch around the text tokens.

Amazing, thank you – I’ll try that out when I get home.