Any way to bind keys to make a rhythm game?

Twine Version: 2.7.1

I want the game that I’m trying to make to have a battle system kind of based off of the gameplay in Friday Night Funkin’, where users would have to press certain keys (up, down, left, right arrows) at a certain time to battle their enemies.

I was wondering if there was a way to do this using Mousetrap (Mousetrap - Keyboard shortcuts in Javascript)

I know literally no javascript (I have dabbled in a bit of python though), so please keep in mind that I’m a complete beginner.

1 Like

There is a way to do this in Harlowe, but you might find SugarCube or Snowman much easier. Harlowe prevents authors from accessing story data or changing variables using JavaScript during run-time.

Setting up Mousetrap in Harlowe

To begin in Harlowe, you would want to load the remote JavaScript file using getScript() and then setup the bindings you want using Mousetrap.

One approach to this would be to use the following example (to be copied into the Story JavaScript window):

// Harlowe gives access to jQuery.
// (When loaded, the global value $ 
//  will contain its properties and methods.)

// We use getScript() to load a remote JavaScript file.
$.getScript( 'https://craig.global.ssl.fastly.net/js/mousetrap/mousetrap.min.js?a4098' )
  .done(function( script, textStatus ) {
  	// If everything works, we call another function.
    bindKeys();
  })
  .fail(function( jqxhr, settings, exception ) {
    console.log("Error: " + exception);
});

// Once the remote JS is loaded, this will be called.
function bindKeys() {
	Mousetrap.bind('4', function() { console.log("Pressed 4"); });
	Mousetrap.bind('2', function() { console.log("Pressed 2"); });
}

In the above code, pressing 2 or 4 on the keyboard would show the message “Pressed 4” or “Pressed 2” to the player in the Console.

Timing in JavaScript