Any games out there that offer their twine source file?

Hello! I’m new to Twine, and to coding in general. I’ve spent a couple days reading and watching tutorials, but I wish I could get my hands on the code of full working games. If I could SEE everything working together and how it all connects, I feel like a lot of these concepts would not be so alien then.

Anyone know of a database where people open-source their interactive fiction projects? Something I can either download and open in Twine or a step by step guide detailing the work process?

1 Like

I just searched on IFDB.org for anything with the “twine source available” tag and got this list; not sure if it lines up with the formats you’re interested in, or if there are other places to look, but maybe it’s a start?

2 Likes

People don’t share their source for twine because it’s thankfully not necessary. If you choose “import from file” and load the html of the game into twine, the entire game project will be made available for you including its source and original tile positions.

2 Likes

Thank you for all the replies! So I’ve been trying to import a .html file. I’ve downloaded a handful but can’t seem to import the .html OR the .tws

I’ve tried opening them in both Twine and Twine 2. It gives me a buffer symbol and then nothing.

Am I missing a step or downloading the wrong thing perhaps?

Strange. Does this one work? That’s the one I tested it with. It’s supposed to work with all of them, but I haven’t tested it with that many.

You should also be able to do it with tweego, which is a command line compiler. You can load the game using that and convert it to a twine archive ready to be imported into twine. But it really shouldn’t be necessary to do that.

1 Like
  1. Released story HTML file.