Alianora La Canta's IFComp Reviews

I have elected to only post public reviews of games that scored at least 4 on my rating system at this time, on the grounds that those scoring 3 or less mostly did so for reasons that could easily be fixed (either by IFComp update or in post-comp) and it’s fair to let the authors have a chance to do that before bringing those reasons to public attention. I have started sending these messages out, to give authors chance to review and make amendments as appropriate.

Note: unless otherwise stated, the reviewed version is the initial release. Games are listed in the order I started playing them, regardless of update patterns. If you are an author and see something you have addressed in an update I have not mentioned, please let me know so I can re-review it. (I reserve the right not to do so if either IFComp ends before I can get round to it, or I hit the two-hour limit).

Potential spoilers for all reviews, though I have tried to spoiler the really spoilery bits.

Finding Light - Abigail Jazwiec (review ready)

I played the original version, then the version updated: October 8, 5:07 PM (UTC), and would recommend anyone who had difficulties with the original version give the updated version a fair hearing if they have not yet hit the 2-hour mark with the game.

The introduction gives a good feeling about your character. All other characters are lightly sketched, with just enough detail to feel like distinct characters rather than cut-out characters. The central action of the game is used well, albeit again not with vast amounts of implementation detail; rather, it uses just enough to convey what is needed to fit in with the story.

The choice of a turn-limited initial action does a good job of giving an initial push to action, especially in the updated version with its improved clueing and acceptance of some synonyms.