Algorithmic elegance in I7

I thought I’d start this thread as a place for folks to post short algorithms, with the idea that someone out there might be able to show us how to do what we’re doing better, more efficiently, or in fewer words.

Here’s my entry (Wikipedia tells me that it’s Euclid’s algorithm, though the description there isn’t quite right):

To decide what number is the greatest common divisor of (A - a number) and (B - a number): let R be the remainder after dividing A by B; if R is 0, let R be B; while R is greater than 0: let S be the remainder after dividing B by R; if S is 0, break; let B be R; let R be S; decide on R.

Is there a way to do this more elegantly? I’m especially thinking about all of the reassignments (let R be B, let B be R, let R be S), but of course it’s also possible that I’m missing something at a higher level.

I’m not a programmer by trade or by training, and most of what I know of programming I’ve learned via Inform 7, dipping a toe into I6 once in awhile, and through all the help I’ve gotten on this forum. Which I guess is just a long way of saying please don’t laugh too hard at my code :wink:

–Erik

Greatest common divisor, not greatest common multiple. There is no greatest common multiple of two numbers, because you can always find a greater one. :slight_smile:

As a rule of thumb, a recursive definition of an algorithm tends to be more readable than an iterative one.

To decide what number is the greatest common divisor of (A - a number) and (B - a number):
	if b is 0, decide on A;
	decide on the greatest common divisor of B and the remainder after dividing A by B.

Thanks, Zarf. Original post corrected.

And Ben, that sweet little smidge of code is exactly the reason I posted–thanks!

–Erik

As Zarf already pointed out, the “greatest common multiple” of two numbers wouldn’t be a very useful thing to know. It would always be either zero or an infinite number.