Advice needed about professional games writing

I’ve been approached by a games company who would like me to do some writing for them on a freelance basis.

They want to know how much I would expect to be paid, but I have no experience in the games industry and I don’t know what the going rate is for writers. The way it’s phrased in the contract is

Party B’s total compensation under this Service Order is [XXX] USD for 1 project(1 project≈XXXwords)
Or
Party B’s total compensation under this Service Order is [XXX] USD per hour for 1 project

As a freelance motion graphic designer, I normally charge by the hour (or more usually by the day), so I’m thinking of charging them a similar hourly rate to what I charge for motion graphics. I have nothing else to compare it to! Does anyone have any experience in this area and would be able to advise me?

9 Likes

Hearty congratulations on the request! Unfortunately I have no experience of this area.

3 Likes

Yup! My first piece of advice would be ‘if you’re offered a choice, do not bill a full-project rate for games writing’ – go for something time-based.

There are occasionally times when a flat rate can work to your advantage, but it usually requires you and/or the people commissioning you to have a good understanding of the project size and scope and likely time to execute.