A question to fix a puzzle

I have a room that can’t be escaped from, unless that character has the key from the other side. It’s a quasi-19th century room. So the character searches and finds a swizzle stick, which he can poke through the keyhole, pushing out the key. An observant person picks up the key and puts it back into the keyhole.

The trick is, the player finds a poster, which she places under the door, then pushes out the key, then retrieves it by pulling the poster back into the room… voila. The observant person is obviously on a break at this point.

I have it all worked out, except what verb to use to push it under the door. I am a bit new at this point to slide the poster under the door and have it work in the room “You see a poster (slid under the door)”. So be gentle (i.e., not miles of code) but I’ve never been able to figure this one out.

Thoughts?

Here’s a way.

1. Give the poster an either/or property: The poster can be under the door. You can use that property to adapt text output: After inserting the stick into the keyhole: say "You hear the key fall from the keyhole[if the poster is under the door] onto the poster[end if]."
    2)Define a ‘sliding it under’ action that sets the ‘is under the door’ property, when sliding the poster under the door (and that politely refuses to do anything when trying to slide anything but the poster under anything but the door).