A point and click Textual Interface

Hi, I’m new here and would like some opinions about an idea. I’m a visual basic developer (not professional) and I have some interest in interactive fiction. Parsers can be simple and complicated as you all know. I have not found too many examples on parser implementation. While programming a simple UI, I came up with simple room linking and most of the intelligence behind the parsing was really nothing more than the user clicking on the UI. So I had an output textbox and some list boxes with things like inventory and npc’s in the room as well as exits. Everything was strictly textual, but as it turns out a player could simply click through the text adventure. I noticed some similarity to some games from the 1990s such as Gateway or Gateway 2, but without graphics. In those games you could sometimes click on some text and it would do auto-completion for you. The difference with what I did was that there was no additional input other than clicking on available logic. I was wondering if there is any interest in this style of IF gameplay. I was also wondering if there are any ideas on how additional manual input might be implemented. I mean the logic of how to lay out an algorithm like that. My experience in visual basic is sufficient, but I lack some experience with algorithm design and I never implemented a more complicated parser than some simple action choices. So I guess the UI idea, is kind of an excuse, but as it turns out, it was interestingly workable in my opinion. What do you all think of something like this if anything.

If I’m understanding you correctly, you basically just described nearly every hypertext adventure game, like those created with Twine. So yeah, there’s interest in it, and games of that type are being made on a regular basis.