How to make an if Statements in a description after seeing something in a different room?

I’m new to Inform7 (and not to strongest coder so sorry in advance if this is any easy fix) I want to make an if statement in the middle of a description. In a previous room, I had an impression in the dirt that implied that someone might have been dragged away. In another room, there’s a corpse that I want to add extra description for if you’ve already examined the impression in that other room. I tried two different ways and neither works so I’m curious what I’m doing wrong.

I wrote I wrote the first one like this:

The Forest is a room.
The Impression is an undescribed fixed in place thing in the Forest. 
Understand "marks", "The mud spot", "The Mud Impression" as The Impression. 
The description of The Impression is "There’s a deep groove in the mud. From the looks of it, you would guess something fell into the mud here and scrambled to get back out. Long grooves in the mud lead all the way back in the direction of the hag’s house. They look like drag marks."

The Living Room is a room.
The Corpse is an undescribed thing in The Living Room. 
The Corpse is in the Secret Nook.

Instead of examining the corpse: 
	say "You would have thought the man was just sleeping by the peaceful look on his face. That is, if it wasn't for the smell of copper clinging to him. His limp hand rests against his side where you can see a large hole in the side of his body. His leathers partially cover the wound but the dried red blood still covers his side and the floor beneath him.[paragraph break]His sharp cheekbones are covered in scratch marks and his well taken care of beard is covered in mud. Looking over the side of him that isn't covered in red, he looks as if he must have fallen into the mud at some point.";
	if the player has examined The Impression: 
		say "You look over his fingers and see that they're covered in mud. He must have been the one dragged inside of the house.";