Yet Another(?) Game Suggestions Request

Hi,

I’m new to IF. I’m hoping that this is a more immersive form of entertainment than video games! Can you give me some suggestions on what to read? I’m looking for IF with these features:

Well-written (extremely important!)
Reads like I am the main character of a novel, screenplay or even comic
Immersive - it says “you” when referring to the reader
No puzzles / Light puzzles / Easy puzzles
Some socialization
Lots of choices for me to make
Not especially “Adult”
Plain text might not be boring but flash would be more lively

Extra points if I get to be something interesting. I don’t care for ninja but I’ll use that as an example. And though I didn’t want to bring this up… I’m a young adult female. So something specifically written for a female character would be great but I won’t limit myself to those books, if you will, because I’m sure they are extremely rare.

So there it is! Is there anything like that? Oh, and if there is a bit of romance or seduction in the female roles that will be fine with me. Nothing crazy though!

Hello, K.A., and welcome to the forum!

You mentioned that the genre is new to you. Have you played any IF before at all? If so, was it choice-based (with a number of links or buttons at each “page”) or parser-based (where you enter an English sentence describing your actions)?

I’d recommend Bronze by Emily Short and Lost Pig by Admiral Jota as good first games. The only (released) romance-themed IF that I can think of is the Infocom game Plundered Hearts, although I don’t know if there’s any legal way to obtain it at this point. (Several other Infocom games were re-released by Activision, but I don’t think PH was among them.) All three of these are parser-based with puzzles, but have excellent writing and convincing characters with some degree of social interaction. PH and Bronze both have explicitly female protagonists as well.