Writing -- to a table during play. Needed? If so, how?

Sorry if this is the documentation. It’s probably something programmers just know! Sadly, I’m no programmer.

I’m adding some rows to a table, but not all fields are populated. Using the – designation instead of leaving a field literally empty is the recommended practice, and my table begins this way. But how do I update an entry with -- during play? Or is Inform already doing this when I make a new row? This is not accepted:

now subtable entry is --;

it also doesn’t accept now subtable entry is "--";

…Which makes sense, because the column is for table names, not text.

It compiles OK. This is a runtime problem. All of my text and text substitutions work fine. It could be something else, but I thought I’d ask about writing -- in new rows before going much further.

Should I be updating entries with this? If so, how?

1 Like

If I’m understanding correctly, you’re wanting to take an entry that was previously filled and make it blank. If that’s the case, you’ll want to use the phrase blank out (a table entry), as documented here.

If you’re looking to add new rows to a table during play, as far as I know that’s not supported. However, you can have just about as many blank rows as you want at the start of play and fill in individual entries later, through the phrases listed on that same page.

4 Likes

Thanks. I’ve been blanking out rows and updating entries, thanks to the documentation. I misspoke when I said “adding rows to a table.” I meant “updating fields in blank rows.” Apologies!

I’m asking if I need to populate empty table fields with the -- designation during this process. It seems so, because the documentation recommends it, and the run-time errors that I am receiving are concerned with blank fields. Then again, Inform may be handling this automatically.

My questions are twofold:

and

If not, I must have a different problem, and I’ll go back to the drawing board.

2 Likes