When is a .z8 file actually necessary?

I’m a newbie considering learning Inform 6. My dream is to write some pretty large games, which I’ll work my way up to. But I’m curious: Roughly how many lines of code does a project have to be before a .z5 file is no longer enough and a .z8 file is needed? Or at the very least, how many kB of source code are we talking about?

I’m also wondering about the possible nightmare scenario where I spend all of my time working on a really big game, and suddenly even a .z8 file is too small. Since you know my newbie status, feel free to inform me if such concerns are even realistic. (I may move on to Inform 7 for really big projects, so feel free to give me an opinion on that as well.)

EDIT: Ah, I just realized…I forgot about .glulx, which I assume could handle larger games. But I’m still curious about the size limits of .z5 and .z8 files, since I would rather have my games as widely usable as possible.

3 Likes

If you’re wanting to write a big game, just use Glulx from the beginning. There’s little reason to target the Z-Machine now unless you’re deliberately aiming for a retro experience and want your game to be playable on retro platforms.

3 Likes

Thanks for the response. Yes, forgot about Glulx when I made my initial post. (I’m taking a deep dive into the Inform 6 ecosystem tonight, as least as much as I can with my inexperience, and some information slipped my mind.) But I’m still curious about .z5 and .z8 size limits, for anyone who is willing to share.

2 Likes

Both have the same general stats: the same object limit, the same RAM limit. All that differs is the space for text and functions/routines. So if you’re using z5 you can change to z8 as soon as you run out without any issues at all. But changing from z8 to Glulx is potentially much more complicated (especially if you use many IO effects), so it’s better to start out using Glulx if you think there’s a chance you might need to use it later.

3 Likes