What you like most in Interactive Fiction Games?

Hello, i’m new to interactive fiction games, and i was wondering what do you like most on them?
I personally like the immersion in the stories :smiley: .

My kicks from IF are mainly:

• Characterization: I dig seeing characters defined clearly with very brief strokes of decision or description. Even moreso: I super-dig characters defined by their perspective. You have two characters examine the same ballpoint pen and you have two opportunities to show that they’re very different people. IF is good for stuff like that.

• Environment: Call it voyeurism, but I like games where I go rooting around in other people’s spaces and other people’s pasts. That’s a lot of IF, really, and the process goes hand-in-hand with the perspective thing. I also like the idea (and some IF lives up to this) of being able to choose how I experience an environment; choose what I focus on and how long and how much.

• Illusion of Interactivity and Tactical Infinity: I think, of all the computer-game forms, IF can (and frequently does) come closest to providing a really convincing, immersive illusion of both interactivity and tactical infinity.

• Pace: When IF is really on its game, even genuine urgency can be stretched out over time and savored (and still feel like genuine urgency). How cool is that?

Plus, as the old joke goes, the graphics are better.

As a caveman who cut my teeth in the pre-Infocom paleolithic age and grew up on Infocom, I still enjoy exploring an interesting world that the author has created and solving puzzles.

Robert Rothman