Ways to make multiple objects work in Inform 7?

Hey,
I’m fairly new to Inform, and have mostly been experimenting and making basic games to try and get a grasp on the language, yet one of the things that I haven’t been able to do is make multiple objects “work”. In my case, it was when I tried to add several potions to the game, I couldn’t make a way for adding new potions of a type the already exists, or make it so that if there were several potions that drinking one doesn’t end up destroying them all ,as I replaced the drinking with some custom effects and stating “now [the potion] is nowhere”. Does anyone have a workaround of fix for this? I’ve look it up, but it seems that using multiple objects in Inform doesn’t seem to be a very common source of problems and so searching it up came up with nothing… Any ideas?

1 Like

Are you trying something like this? (Tip: posting your code will make it easier for us to find the problem.)

A potion is a kind of thing. The player carries three potions.

Instead of drinking a potion:
    say "You quaff [the noun]. It tastes delicious.";
    remove the noun from play.

I think what you want is discussed in 4.14 in the I7 guide, “Duplicates”.

[code]The Lab is a room.

A potion is a kind of thing.

Instead of drinking a potion (called the target potion):
say “Gulp! [The target potion] is all gone.”

10 potions are in the lab.[/code]

This produces the behavior:

[code]Lab
You can see ten potions here.

get potion
Taken.

drink potion
Gulp! The potion is all gone.

look
Lab
You can see nine potions here.[/code]

Oh wow, thanks. I genuinely missed that. I swear I looked all through the guide for something to solve my problem, guess I’m a bit air headed sometimes :stuck_out_tongue:

However, whilst the section helps a lot I’m still having trouble spawning in new items, as I keep getting errors stating I’m not being explicit enough, like if I have this:

[code]The lab is a room.
A potion is a kind of thing.