Value and Player/Character Question

Hello!

I’m new to Inform 7 and I’m a bit stumped. I tried searching the forums for replies too but I haven’t seen the topic posted before.

I’m trying to get values displayed when the player inputs “stats”. Here is my code…

Requesting Stats is an action applying to nothing. Understand “stats” and “stat” and “statistics” as Requesting Stats.
Carry out requesting stats:
say “STR: [Strength][line break]AGL: [Agility][line break]INT: [Intelligence][line break]BEAU: [Beauty][line break]IMG: [Image][line break]FOR: [Fortitude][line break]FER: [Fertility][line break]SLP: [Sleep][line break][paragraph break]”;

Which is fine for numeric/integer values. But I’m trying to display these as well…

Powers is a kind of value. Limited Invisibility, Limited Telekinesis, Gifted Strength, Gifted Agility, Gifted Intelligence, Limited Sonic Blasts, Limited Shields are powers.

Negative Traits is a kind of value. Nightmare Prone, That Normal Life, Expensive Heroing, Weakness, Public Menace, Not Normal are negative traits.

However…

say “STR: [Strength][line break]AGL: [Agility][line break]INT: [Intelligence][line break]BEAU: [Beauty][line break]IMG: [Image][line break]FOR: [Fortitude][line break]FER: [Fertility][line break]SLP: [Sleep][line break]POW: [Powers][line break][paragraph break]”;

The BOLD section isn’t working or rather won’t display the variable. I assume a different set-up is needed for it? But I can’t find anything about displaying non-numeric variables.

The other question I had was about displaying a Player description and filling it with variables. Like, for example…

You are...
      if Beauty = 0 
          say, "quite hideous!"
     if Beauty = 1
          say, "kind of ugly..."

and so on. Would anyone know the best way of how I should go about setting this up?

Anonynn.

1 Like

Off the top of my head I don’t know anything about the first part BUT I can answer the second, easier part.