Using the command line?

Hi folks,

I’ve used i7 before, but on a different machine. I ended up installing the command-line version on my current computer (running PCLinuxOS). I’ve figured out that I can edit the code with a text editor and go in and compile it through the command line. But when using the ©ompile or (G)o commands, Inform compiles the program, and tells me “Inform 7 has finished.” Then it simply flashes “lines 1-38/38 (END)” and I can’t figure out how to get to actually running the game! None of the keys seem to have any effect. What does it want from me? A cookie?

It’s a pity all the getting-started manuals assume I have the GUI.

Okay. Pressed q twice and got into the game. Still, any manual info about working in the command line would be very appreciated.

Okay. It should be rather clear I’m new to Linux as well.

I’ve figured out from a programmer’s guide that when I say compile, Inform7 compiles my code into Inform6, which then compiles it into the game. These are two discrete processes. Pressing q will skip the output and go right to whether it succeeds or fails (not worth doing if I want to see WHY my code is failing). Once the output is complete I must press q to jump to the next step. Assuming all goes well, after the second process I will either return to the menu or go into the game (which may be quit using normal text-adventure commands, q or quit with a confirmation), depending on what I’ve selected.

I’m still wondering how (E)diting works. It’s still confusing what that tool is. I assume ®elease compiles it into a stand-alone file to be read with an interpreter, based on my (S)ettings.

Hope this helps some other newb in the distant future who googles just the right phrase…