Using "Examine" Command, but cannot "Examine"

I have a character that is blindfolded. So when a user inputs “Examine”, I want to be able to say, “You cannot see the tunnel. Did you forget that you are blindfolded?”

This is what I used:
Instead of examing the tunnel:
say “You cannot see the tunnel. Did you forget you are blindfolded?”

Test me with “examine tunnel”.

I am still getting: You can’t see any such thing.

Thank you for any assistance.

1 Like

This works in a small test game project. (If you spell “examining” correctly, that is.) And if the tunnel object is in the room!

If the tunnel isn’t present, the player can’t examine it.

Are you using some darkness effect to keep objects out of play when blindfolded?

Thank you for your reply. As you can see I am very new at this. What I have is the following:

[Tunnel]
Tunnel is a room.

Instead of examining the tunnel:
say “You cannot see the tunnel. Did you forget you are blindfolded?”

So question now is: Do I have to make “Tunnel” an object?

What about using [something]?

Instead of examining [something]:
say "You can’t see anything. Did you forget you are blindfolded?

If I’m getting the Inform 7 right, that would cover any attempt to perceive anything at all.

(edit): I think the problem is that the system checks for the existence of the target before it even checks for the Instead rule. If there’s no object, it fails by saying it doesn’t exist. I think using [something] will pass as long as there’s a text string after examine, so the existence of that thing won’t matter.

1 Like

The [something] here is actually doing nothing at all—text in square brackets outside a text string is a comment, so the compiler ignores it completely!

The trick is, Inform considers “examining” and “examining something” to be the same, so “instead of examining [something]” works completely by accident: the [something] gets removed, but “instead of examining” is a perfectly legal rule header on its own.

2 Likes