[Twine Sugarcube] something like Harlowe's (history:) macro?

Hello!
I’m new to both Twine and this forum! Since I cannot find a question/answer when googling I decided to make an account in hope that someone could provide an easy answer. :slight_smile: Maybe I’m just tired.

I had to change the story format from Harlowe to Sugarcube for my story since I’d like to do more with audio etc. later. However, in my game, there was a passage previously containing (if: (history:) contains “passagename”)[…] and so on - basically, a certain piece of text was displayed ONLY if the player had previously visited a certain (previous) passage. If not, the passage would just show the following text, still relevant independent of previous passages.

My question is: how do I do this exact same thing with sugarcube? I feel like the answer should be simple, but right now I just feel lost. Hopefully someone here can help.

SugarCube has a number of functions you can use to determine which Passages have previously been ‘visited’.

For the use-case you mention in your question I suggest using the hasVisited() function. The function’s documentation includes examples on how to use it in combination with the <<if>> macro.

Hey @Greyelf, thanks for your answer! I did try that, but it didn’t work so I think I’m still doing something wrong.

I wrote like this:

<<if hasVisited(“Let her in”)>>“What is your name, Miss…?”
“Lizzy,” answered the woman.<< /if >>

Is “Let her in” the name of the current passage? If so, then you’ll have to do things slightly differently using the visited() function, like this:

<<if visited() === 1>>“What is your name, Miss…?”
“Lizzy,” answered the woman.<</if>>

That should work properly now if that was the problem.

Hope that helps! :slight_smile:

P.S. If you want to display code properly in this forum you’ll need to use the “code block” button (the one that looks like </>) to mark that text as code.