Twine newbie help

Hey there! I am quite new to Twine 2 and am hoping someone knows the answer to this. In a story, when presented with three choices, I want the player to “collect” three items before he can move on. I want the choice to disappear after he has “collected” each one.

Example, a player must find three clues before he can look for treasure. He can pick the clues in any order, and after collecting each clue the option is no longer available. Any help is much appreciated!

Find the three clues
[[clue 1]]
[[clue 2]]
[[clue 3]]
You found clue 1
[[go back and find the other clues]]
You found clue 2
You found clue 3
Go back and find the other clues
[[clue 1]]
[[clue 2]]
[[clue 3]]
[[you got all 3 clues. go find treasure]]
You got all 3 clues. go find treasure

1 Like

The simple theory answer without code is to set up variables for each treasure. When the player visits each passage to collect the treasure, set the corresponding variable to TRUE and use an if-statement in the first passage to only display the passage link if the corresponding treasure variable is not TRUE.

Then have a “You found all the treasure!” message or link the player can follow on the initial page that only shows up if all three variables are set to TRUE, also using an if-statement.

Variable setting and checking is dependent on the specific flavor of Twine you’re using.

As @HanonO points out, the actual code depends on which version you want to use. The code below is “Harlowe”, which is the default. Unless you deliberately chosen to use a different language, you’re using Harlowe.

In order to post twine code to this site, we must post it as Twee code. That’s the all-text equivalent of the code you produce using the Twine app (with the clickable boxes).

Twee code looks like this:

::This is a passage header 
This is the body of the passage called "This is a passage header" it continues on until the next line which begins with a double colon.

::second passage