Twine audio/images not loading correctly for mobile

Hello, I’m very new to the coding/twine world, please if you have any solutions explain them basically so I can try and wrap my brain around it.

I’ve recently made my first twine and have exported the html to itch.io so it can be tested.

I have tested the html on my computer and it works perfectly on all browsers, however when I try to optimise it for mobile the images are out of screen and the audio will not fade out, and therefore stacks all the audio tracks ontop of one another as you progress.

i’m using very basic macro’s for eg:
<<loopsound “door openclose.wav” >>

and

<<fadeoutsound “door openclose.wav” >>
<<fadeinsound “Calm Tavern Music.wav” >>

These macro’s are not being received when played through mobile on the itch server. Does anyone have any solutions?

Please feel free to test it here: https://steriotyper.itch.io/tavern-story
The password is: twinery

Thanks so much.

There are a number of potential issues with the HTML file and the audio files it is referencing:

1: It takes time to download the media resources used by your project, and the more MBs you pre-download the longer it takes for things to stabilise, which in turn effects the potential delay before a audio file will start playing.

For example if I use the Network tab of my web-browser’s Web Developer Tools to view what resources are being downloaded when I view the initial Passage of your story, I see that there are: 97 requests for a total 55.4 MBs of resources which take 1.6 minutes to download. And that three of the wav files (“Elf Music.wav”, “Mystic Music.wav”, and “Dwarven Music.wav”) are each 3.1 MB in size.