Twine 2.3.8 Harlowe- Inventory Looping

Hello, I am a beginner in Twine working on an interactive fiction. I have made an inventory system that works, however, every time I click the item for its description, return back to the inventory, and then attempt to exit the inventory to resume the main storyline, it loops me back to the inventory.

This is my code for the item:
(if: $rustykey’s isCarried is true) [A (link: “rusty key”)[(set:$selectedItem to $rustykey)(set: $previousPassage to “Inventory”)(goto: “Item Description”)]]

This is my code to exit the inventory:
(link:“Close”)[(goto: $previousPassage)]

All the main storyline passages also have the following code to allow for return:
(set: $previousPassage to “NameofPassage”)

I’m unsure how to fix this issue. Thank you in advance for helping!

Why are you setting $previousPassage to "Inventory" before jumping to the inventory passage? Doesn’t that defeat the entire purpose of the variable? Also, it’s the reason you’re getting stuck in a loop.

I would like to be able to return to the inventory after reading an item’s description, so I set the $previousPassage to "Inventory". While getting rid of that variable would work, I find it a bit inconvenient. Is getting rid of that variable the only way?

Sorry. Yeah, I think I understand what you’re doing now. I think instead of setting $previousPassage to "Inventory", you should just leave that part out. Then in the item description (which I’m going to assuming is using the $previousPassage variable to return to the inventory), I’d just hard code it to return to the inventory.