Trying a very basic story

Hello everyone,

I am a complete noob so please be gentle. I am planning a very basic story which will be played by a group of people who have never been exposed to IF. Shocking I know! Many years ago I played my first IF and not quite as long ago I was successful at making a very basic story for my kids, but I am less confident now.

I will give a summary of what I have planned and how I think I should proceed, but I welcome any and all suggestions.

The entire story will involve the players finding 12 pages from a calendar. Each page/month will provide them with a secret word when they inspect/read them. Everything will happen in one room - an office.

My current plan is…
In the office:
a safe (container - lockable and locked)
a trash can (container)
a desk (supporter) with 2 drawers (containers - part of desk?) - 1 unlockable and 1 lockable and locked.
a globe (container) is on the desk.
a key (thing) is inside the globe (for the locked drawer)
a safe code (thing) is in the locked drawer
a rug (thing?) on the floor
a picture (thing?) on a wall

6 of the calendar pages (things) will be in the safe.

The others will be - 1 each:
In the trash can, under the rug, on the floor - visible, in the unlocked drawer, in the locked drawer and behind the picture.

Upon taking the globe, I plan on prompting the player of a metal sounding noise inside. I am thinking they will drop/throw? the globe to break it open - revealing the key.

The key will obviously unlock the drawer. I am open to suggestions on the easiest way (both for me and for inexperienced players) to handle to safe code.

Once the safe is opened, the remaining pages will be available.

So, there it is in all it’s glory! I would welcome any concept changes that will make it easier on me as well as straightforward playing for the players. I plan on jumping in so be ready for a bunch of noob questions…

Thanks in advance for guidance provided.

4 Likes