Trouble with using timed macro inside click macro

Twine Version: 2.3.9
Story Format: Sugarcube 2.31.1

Okay, so, I am very new to Twine - this is my first story. I’m actually pretty new to coding, full stop. So please bear with me.

I’m trying to have it so that text is revealed within a passage after the player clicks a link. And then within that some of the text that’s revealed is delayed by a couple seconds. To accomplish that I’ve got:

<span id="output1"><<click "stopped.">> <<replace "#output1">> He went outside.<<timed 1.25s>>He ate an apple.<</timed>>
<</replace>><</click>></span>

So far, so good. The trouble is, I what the “apple” within that timed text to become the text the player can click for the next chunk of text to be revealed - and I want “apple” to be revealed on that timer.

So the below doesn’t work, but hopefully shows what I’m trying to do:

<span id="output1"><<click "stopped.">> <<replace "#output1">> She went outside.<<timed 1.25s>>She ate an 
<span id="output2"><<click "apple">><</timed>><<replace "#output2">>enormous red apple. <<timed 1.25s>>It was delicious.<</timed>>

The error that keeps popping up seems to me to be saying that it breaks the click & replace macros because it can’t find the /replace /click /span bit because the first /timed bit is getting in the way.

Is there another way to do this?

The problem is that you have HTML elements and macros crossing over top of each other, which just leads to broken code. To show you an example, this is a part of your code that’s broken:

<<timed 1.25s>>
	She ate an
	<span id="output2">
		<<click "apple">>
		<</timed>>
	<</click>>
</span>

Do you see how the <<timed>> macro starts outside of both the <span> and the <<click>>, but ends inside of them? Code can’t work properly when that happens.