Trouble compiling source from IFDB (Re: Dragon)

I’m new to Inform, but I’ve played/read IF since 1983. I’ve also noodled around with Inform since 2000, but never got very far. I also have an IT background, so I’m not totally clueless. Yet, I’m running into so many issues compiling story text, that I suspect I’m doing something wrong.
I’m using 6M62 to compile new-ish source (e.g., 2018 Re:Dragon) but running into issues with extensions being the wrong version, or obscure syntax errors. Especially for a new-ish source like this, I would expect that 6M62 would compile it without problems.
Another issue (which I somewhat expected) is compiling older source (e.g., 2012 IF Whispers 5, 2014 Sparkle). I realize that the original source must be matched to the Inform compiler of the time, but I haven’t been able to find correct matches. It seems a bit of a crap shoot. Add to that matching previous versions of extensions, if I can even find them. Out of the 20+ IF stories that provide source, I’ve only been able to successfully compile one: 2017 Absence of Law.
Again, I suspect that the problem is on my end (as in “the trouble is with the plug between the keyboard and the screen”) and I’m perhaps over-thinking this.
Any suggestions on compiling story text, new and old, so that I can study them would be greatly appreciated.
Patrick

1 Like

Hey, good to have you here, @Patrick.Demets !

Re: Dragon is an unusual case in that it’s not just using out-of-the-box Inform 7. It employs a lot of code trickery and a specific web interpreter called Vorple to accomplish what it does. Vorple requires unlisted extensions to work that aren’t in the main Inform library but should be available on its website.

1 Like

You may also want to take a look at Inform For Programmers. It was written a number of years ago and some of it might be out of date, but may assist you on a concept-level with I7’s natural-language syntax.

1 Like

Thanks for your replies HanonO!