Transcript Annotation Tool

Hey, does anyone know of a tool that can take an IF transcript and create editor’s notes in it?

Just got done testing someone else’s game, which I’ve never done before, and spent 8x as much time formatting and writing a half-thorough, annotated transcript of my experience, and then the PM system said my document was too long, because I was doing all of this with the forum’s formatting system.

Hoping for something that can process a transcript to an HTML file with annotations in a second column, if I’m allowed to be optimistic.

That way I can just PM someone the HTML file as an attachment.

Thank you!

Over a decade ago I wrote a short guide to doing this in Microsoft Word. Probably not what you’re looking for, but posting in case there’s something useful in there.

2 Likes

Brad I think you’re a genius. I could probably do this in Google Docs, provided that the annotations appear in the exported PDF.

I’ll try this soon!

EDIT: There’s a chance that LibreOffice could do this too.

2 Likes

If you work out and share updated instructions for this sort of thing, please share them here! I’ll happily update that old blog post to link to them as well.

1 Like

It sounds like you’ve got a good solution and I’m not sure whether you’re talking about a choice-based game or a parser one, but in case you’re considering a low-effort approach to the latter (my personal favorites!) what I’ve usually done and seen done is to just type annotations straight in as you play, usually prefaced by an asterisk or other character to make it easy for the author to find the note.

3 Likes

Yeah, sounds like any symbol, but the manual suggests *? Writing with Inform, 24.7 Commands for beta testers

2 Likes

It’s for parser games…! :smile:

Will this work in a TADS interpreter?

The only concerns I have are:

1. Transcript readability; plain text documents can make the eyes glaze over.