Total Newbie Twine Question(s)

So I thought I’d download Twine 2.3.1 for Windows and have a look at it. (Or, I guess it’s 2.3.1 – that information is usually to be found under the Help menu, in an item that might be called “About Twine.” There is no such item in the Help menu.)

I created a new story. I got a light blue window with an Untitled Passage in it. I double-clicked on that window, changed the title to At the Beginning, and wrote a couple of sentences. Then I clicked on the X in the upper right corner.

My understanding is that at this point the interface is supposed to change my initial box to display “At the Beginning.” It didn’t. And when I click the Play button, I get a black window that says, “Double-click this passage to edit it.” Well, I did edit the text, didn’t I? So I close that window and double-click on “Untitled Passage” again. You guessed it – the new text I entered there is still there. But Twine refuses to display it.

But wait, there’s more. I create a couple of linked pages using the [[xxx]] notation in the Untitled Passage. When I close the edit window, I do indeed get two new boxes, with the proper titles displayed. But according to the Twine documentation, there are supposed to be little lines between the first box and the two new ones. There aren’t. The three boxes are all free-floating.

I’m not going to call this user error, because it’s fairly clear I’m doing exactly what the documentation tells me to do. Until further notice, I’m going to call it poor documentation.

So how exactly do I go about making the thing behave the way it’s supposed to?

1 Like