Time invested in your games?

Does anyone ever track, or at least have a good estimate of, how much time you spend in authoring a game? I haven’t actually tracked mine but I’m thinking it’s way past 1000 hrs and I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s approaching 2000…
Granted, I learned programming from scratch and the whole TADS library in the process…

3 Likes

Yoooooooo

If nobody has told you this yet, I am so proud of you, not only for authoring, but for learning how to code as a step in the process.

As a self-taught programmer that is a colossal obstacle by itself!

1 Like

I do.

I started working on my first Inform 7 game for ParserComp 2021 in August 2020. While I didn’t start tracking my time from the very beginning, I did start in April 2021.

So far I’ve spent 458 hours and 35 minutes working on the game (I’m currently updating v1.0 based on feedback and my goal is to have v2.0 ready by the end of the year).

Details

Out of the 91,576 words I’ve written so far, 37,450 (40.89%) remain in the game.

• 59,755 words - August 2020 to June 2021 (v1.0)
  • 31,821 words - July 2021 to August 2022 (v1.1 to v1.8)
Chart

I guess I can be a little obsessive compulsive about things like this at times.

6 Likes

I couldn’t even begin to track time. For one thing, I spend a LOT of time in my head with the story and mechanism before I write anything down. No way to quantify that. For another, I’m still learning Inform, so I spend a ridiculous amount of time reading old help threads here and searching in/reading the docs for things that are often quite basic concepts. Once I start going, though, I spend months writing every day. If I got a paycheck for all this it would be huge.

10 Likes