Things we like, things we don't

Hi people, I’m pretty new to writing IF but currently beavering away on a potential competition entry. I’m interested in finding out what pushes your buttons or turns you off when playing an IF work, whether it be a competition entry or not. I might use the responses to draw up a ‘make your player happy’ guide, as I’ve come across the occasional bit of advice (like make sure there’s a ‘syzygy’ response) but I’ve not seen a whole bunch of them pooled, and that could be useful.

Be as vague or specific as you like.

Here you go: mirror.ifarchive.org/if-archive/ … IFGems.zip

I don’t know if this is a joke that I’m not getting, but I think you mean that you want to make sure there’s a response to the command “xyzzy”.

-Kevin

:blush:

I should have mentioned in the OP that I’m a total moron. The joke that you didn’t get is my life.

I can’t open Juhana’s link. Tried different browsers and 2 machines. Is the site dead?

Hopefully not, it’s the IF Archive… You must be hitting a dead mirror. I’ll attach it here.
IFGems.zip (150 KB)

Here’s one article on the subject: brasslantern.org/editorials/annoyed.html

I know there’s a big compilation of comments on game design in general and certain games specifically, culled from IF comp entries’ reviews from years past, but I’m having trouble finding it now.

You should also take a look at Jess Knoch’s IF Comp Primer. The site seems to be down right now, but you can read an archived version at http://web.archive.org/web/20081014103119/http://www.strangebreezes.com/if/writings/compguide.htm.

I take humble pride in assuming that someone got confused over my nick. :wink:

syzygy

You might also want to look at the thread on this site, “How to win IFComp”: viewtopic.php?f=32&t=6205

As maga says, the title is a bit of a bait-and-switch; it could really be “How to have a good experience as an IFComp author.”