The Pilgrimage: A post-post-apocalyptic hangover odyssey

Hullo!

My name is Nick Brakespear, and I was deranged enough to write a text adventure from scratch in a desperate bid to actually gain a bit of an audience for the novels I’ve been writing. I hope it’s acceptable to post a custom engine game here.

I would be indebted to you (not literally though - I’m a starving author and can offer you nothing in return) if you might take the time to play through the demo for my in-development game and give me some feedback - which you can thrust in my direction here on this forum, or via an email address listed in the demo itself.

I’d assume most people here will have played more text adventures than I have, so if there are any issues with my game’s actual core design, I’d appreciate your expert opinions on the matter.

PREMISE:

One thousand years ago, the Earth was destroyed.
Mankind now sails a burning sea - an accretion disc;
a whirlpool of fire, born of the tears of a dying sun.

But that’s not important right now.
What’s important is that you woke up in the pub with a massive hangover;
that the landlord claims you owe him money…
…and that you don’t have any.

Oh, and the police think you murdered someone.

Welcome to The Pilgrimage:
An interactive [mis]adventure by a novelist you’ve never heard of.

IMPORTANT NOTES:

• The game was written in .Net, using WPF for its interface. So for the less technically-minded, that means it should run on any version of Windows post-XP (XP users will need to download the .Net Framework). If you’re on a post-XP version of Windows, and it doesn’t work, let me know.

• AV software might find the demo suspicious. Just a pitfall of indie development I’m afraid - not really sure what I can do about that.