Testing won't work [Bracket Placement in Harlowe]

Twine Version: Twine 2.5.1
Story Format: Harlowe 3.3.3
Browser: Chrome

All of my passages show that they are linked correctly in the editor, but when I try to test it or publish it in a file to play it, it doesn’t work. It shows my introduction passage, but when I try to click the links to different passages, it doesn’t do anything. Maybe this is a simple fix that I don’t get because I’m new to Twine, but I don’t understand why it won’t let me test it. If anyone could help me, that would be great!

Are you working with the online version of Twine, or do you have it downloaded to your computer?

Do you have other Twine stories that work in test or publishing? You might want to create a new test file with a few simple passages and links and see if those work by testing or publishing. Sometimes browser security settings might be preventing you from going to “suspicious” links, but that shouldn’t happen when testing in the Twine editor. If you can make a new file that works there’s a problem with your other story. If a test file doesn’t work, you might want to save all of your work (publish to file) and re-install Twine.

If a test story works, another thing to try: publish your story to a file. Then click on the Home button in Twine and re-import from that file as a new story to see if something might be borked with your original story file.

If that doesn’t work, we might need to see your original file.

NOTE: If this story is a prospective entry for IFComp, please don’t upload your file to a message or provide links in a public message here as it will count as being publicly available and disqualify your entry. Someone would need to arrange to look at it privately via Private Message or separate email in this case. If it’s not a Comp entry disregard this.