Taking of a shirt

Hi,

I’m new to Inform 7 and I have a basic question. Why doesn’t this work? :slight_smile:

Cell is a room.

A overweight man is in the cell. He is wearing a shirt. “An overweight man dangles in a rope from the ceiling[If wearing shirt] The man wears a blue shirt[otherwise] The man is bare chested.[end if]”.

This just gives me “the man is bare chested” every time.

All help is much appreciated!

Change “[if wearing shirt]” to “[if the item described is wearing the shirt]” or “[if the overweight man is wearing the shirt]”.

I can’t really answer your question of why this isn’t working, because I’m not sure how “if wearing shirt” is being interpreted, but spelling it out a bit more seems to work.

Thought I tried that but I guess not because it worked :slight_smile: Thanks!

Actually what I did is I used only man and not overweight man. That was the difference

Yup, “man” is predefined as a kind of person, so if you had “[if the man is wearing a shirt]” it would get evaluated as true if any man was wearing a shirt (the word “the” gets treated as “a” in situations like that); but the overweight man isn’t actually defined as a man, so the test doesn’t pick that up. (And you don’t want it to come out true if the player is wearing a shirt, for instance.)

If you had called him “the overweight dude” and then written “if the dude is wearing a shirt” it would’ve worked; it’s only because “man” is already defined that the compiler doesn’t understand “man” as referring to the overweight man.

That makes sense, Thanks!

New problem: when I type “take off shirt” it gives me: (must take the shirt first)
“It probably belongs to the overweight man.”

I changed the code to:
Before taking the shirt:
Say “You tear the man’s shirt off”;
Now the player is carrying the shirt.

But this gives me:

(must take the shirt first)
You tear the man’s shirt off.

You’re not wearing it.

How do I fix this? :slight_smile: