t3sketch - turn flowcharts into tads code!

Hello. My name is Dustin and I am new to the intfiction forums and well TADS and IF in general. I fell in love with TADS when I was a kid and I remember I had the entire System Manual printed out in binders the I would take to school and study. I wasn’t much of a programmer back then and I don’t think I ever stood much chance. I don’t think I even played much IF (I can’t recall any); I was just fascinated with the system. Anyhow, I somehow started playing IF recently and have also been studying TADS again and I thank Eric and Jim and Emerald for their help so far. As a result I have built some tooling to help facilitate TADS work on linux.

What if you could prototype a new area for your game visually and have all the boilerplate for Rooms and Doors rendered out for you in a buildable state? Imagine prototyping the image below and being able to instantly build it into a TADS game:

Well with t3sketch you can! If you have linux, python and frobtads you can use t3sketch. I’ve released the rudiments of this project on github here: github.com/dustinlacewell/t3sketch There are some preliminary instructions about how to install it, and how to bootstrap the example map shown above.

Basically, by designing a floorplan, and specifying the classes of your objects like Rooms and Doors, t3sketch can render out all the bare-bones code required to represent those objects. It allows you to quickly draw up the skeleton of code for you to then edit. It is not “managed” or “dynamic”. Once you render out the area, that’s it. If you edit the code, you’re past the stage where t3sketch can assist you.

In addition, it comes with a handy wrapper around t3make. Point it at a directory full of code and it will generate reasonable makefiles and optionally build and run the game file.

I have created a termcast demonstrating how to perform the demonstration described in the Github README.

ascii.io/a/3519

What do you all think?