T3 in a Browser

I’m contemplating developing a new game. I would personally prefer to use TADS rather than Inform. Trouble is, the Inform community is developing some good tools for running games in Web browsers.

I’m afraid this is going to kill T3.

If I want to write a game that can be played by casual users (those who are not committed enough to find and download an interpreter), it appears I have to write in Inform (either 6 or 7). I’ve made a comment to this effect on the TADS System Development forum, but after an initial flurry of conversation, the topic died down. I’m not seeing any indication that anyone is actively working on it.

Am I alone in seeing this as an issue?

I’m not a real programmer; I would have no way of writing a T3 terp in Javascript. I’m dependent on the kindness of strangers. But I’d sure like to develop a groundswell of sentiment on this subject, so as to encourage someone who has the ability to tackle the project. Can I get a witness?

I don’t think there’s actually any doubt that this would be a good and desirable thing; my impression was more that MJR had some pretty challenging, long-term idea about how to do it, and that while he was planning to take action, it might take a little while. I may be misreading, though.

If there’s anything to be gained from expressions of “Yeah, that would be cool!”, then:

Yeah, that would be cool!