Switching characters.

Hi, I’m a beginner at writing IF using Inform7, though I’m a quick learner, and I’m starting a scenario out. I’m getting the story and setting fleshed out pretty well, details and props and what have you. The player character is a parasite of sorts, so at the start of the story, you the player is in the body of (and in control of) one person, and I would like to be able to “transfer” into a non-player character, making the non-player character into the player, and the exited body turn into a non-player character. If anyone could give me some advice on this, maybe point me to some helpful sections of the manuals, I’d really appreciate it. Thanks to everyone in advance.

Actually, I figured out how to make a switch between players, but could someone help me with changing the characters’ descriptions after the switch?

You would say:

The description of Steve is "[If the player is Steve]Your wonderful host[Otherwise]A potential host[end if]."

That seemed so easy I should’ve known it already, thank you very much! I’m having some trouble now though (and hope nobody minds my question becoming a series of questions!) with calling the act of switching characters “transferring,” and having the act of transferring result in the switching of the player from one person to another. Here’s the codes for the two current example characters and my feeble start of a code for creating the action of “transferring.”

[code]Buddy Walker is a man in the Hotel Room. The player is Buddy Walker.

The infant is a person in the Hotel Room. The infant is fixed in place.

The description of the infant is “[If the player is the infant]You are in an infant. It knows very little about itself. It smells like shit.[Otherwise]A crying infant. Such a putrid sound.[end if].”

Understand “baby” as the infant.

Transferring is an action applying to one thing. Understand “transfer” and “transfer into” as transferring.[/code]