Suicide in I7

Hi, I’m fairly new to developing IF and very new to Inform. In one of my games, I want to give the player the option to commit suicide, as this was a much-requested feature during testing. It should print a short description of what they’ve just done, and then end the game in death.

I know that I can set “suicide” as a verb, or tell it instead of “killing self” or “killing me” or what have you, to perform the desired action… but is there a simpler way than thinking of every possible way the player could phrase the desire to end the character’s life and setting it up individually?

Thanks in advance for your help. =)

No, you pretty much have to think of all the different ways. However you only have to do this once, and then you could use it for all your games, or give the code to friends for their games.

However you can get around some of the work by using the shortcuts that Inform provides. For example, say you want to let the player kill themself with any object they can hold in their inventory. Rather than typing ‘understand “kill myself with ball”’, ‘understand “kill myself with knife”’, ‘understand “kill myself with matches”’, etcetera, you can use the text tokens which Inform will substitute for – in this case, ‘understand “kill myself with [something preferably held]”’. The added benefit is that when you add a new object, you don’t have to add new code to take care of this new case. It’s good to think of much of your code in this way, to make it flexible for new cases that may come up, though you don’t need to go too crazy to make it absolutely flexible.

See the Understanding section in the manual for more on this, section 16.4.