SugarCube 2: Creating 3 panels in a row

Hi all, first time poster and I am pretty new to Twine as well so apologies if I haven’t done this right.

I am trying to display three panels side by side across the screen in Twine. I am trying to do this with the code below. The panels display correctly when I have the code within <\html> tags but this then breaks any Twine stuff I put in there like <<print $pName>>. If I remove the tags then the layout of the three panels goes wrong with the second and third panel displaying a line down from the one to the left.

Does anyone know how to get a display like this using just Twine markup or how I incorporate the Twine code within the tags. Many thanks in advance.

My StyleSheet:

* {
  box-sizing: border-box;
}

.column {
  float: left;
  width: 33.33%;
  padding: 10px;
  height: 300px; 
}

.row:after {
  content: "";
  display: table;
  clear: both;
}

@media screen and (max-width: 600px) {
  .column {
    width: 100%;
  }
}

My passage is:

<html>
<body>
<h2>Three panel test</h2>
<div class="row">
  <div class="column" style="background-color:#aaa;">
    <h2>Column 1</h2>
    <p><<print $pName>></p>
  </div>
  <div class="column" style="background-color:#bbb;">
    <h2>Column 2</h2>
    <p>Some text..</p>
  </div>
  <div class="column" style="background-color:#ccc;">
    <h2>Column 3</h2>
    <p>$eName</p>
  </div>
</div>
</body>
</html>

If you’re attempting this within the normal structure of SugarCube’s UI, try the following:

<<nobr>>
<h2>Three panel test</h2>
<div class="row">
  <div class="column" style="background-color:#aaa;">
    <h2>Column 1</h2>
    <p><<print $pName>></p>
  </div>
  <div class="column" style="background-color:#bbb;">
    <h2>Column 2</h2>
    <p>Some text..</p>
  </div>
  <div class="column" style="background-color:#ccc;">
    <h2>Column 3</h2>
    <p>$eName</p>
  </div>
</div>
<</nobr>>