Stuck in an Infinite Loop?

Twine Version: 2.3.5
Story Format: Harlowe

Okay, I’m trying to simulate a store and things are getting complicated… The math already seems to be slowing down the refresh rate of displaying quantities and dollars, and when we get into high numbers, things start to get weird. Like infinite loops popping up and stuff. I’m self-taught so I think it’s time to call in some help. I’ll just paste my code and explain it and you’ll hopefully see the problems.

Okay, so I first set up a customer modifier variable and a max customers variable somewhere else. Here, I set up an array of customers and then randomize it, then I make them into datamaps that have a certain number of slots to buy items, randomized between 1 and 3. Finally, those buy slots are all added up in the total $buyslots

(set: $customers to (range: 1,(ceil: $maxcustomers * $customermod)))
(set: $customers to (range: 1,(random: (round: $customers's length - ($customers's length * .10)), (round: $customers's length + ($customers's length * .10)))))
(set: $buyslots to 0)
(for: each _index, ...(range: 1, $customers's length))[
	(set: $customers's (_index) to (dm:
		"name","default",
		"buyslots", 1
	))
	(set: $customers's (_index)'s buyslots to (random: 1,3))
	(set: $buyslots to it + $customers's (_index)'s buyslots)
]

So next I need to take the list of products the store has in stock and shuffle it, because if it’s in the same order every time the first items on the list will be bought more often. So for each product on the now shuffled list, I first zero out a $salesmod (holds the number of sales for that item) and a “calc” in the items datamap (the final number of sales for that item). Anyway, then I calculate the popularity of the item (it needs to be limited to a range of 1-10, which the items can go outside of, but they are capped for this calculation - that’s what $poplimit is)