Struggling with Inform 7 (Newbie here)

I love interactive fiction. I’ve been playing it since the early days of Scott Adams games on the VIC-20. I’ve written a few games back in the day in BASIC, mostly for my own amusement.

I’ve tried my hand at a few different versions of Inform, and never quite “gotten it”. However I really like Inform 7. I really like the ease of the language for describing rooms and basic rules, however what I am wanting to do is beyond my programming knowledge and I’m looking for help.

Imagine a grid of “rooms” say 10 X 10 or even bigger set in a forest with very similar descriptions . One of which randomly has a “treasure” placed in it when game play begins. (None of this is the problem)

What I need to figure out is a compass like device, (actually a GPS with a compass setting) that points to the direction of the “treasure room” each time game play starts regardless of any road blocks in the way. I have no idea how to do this in Inform.

In other words, if the "treasure’ is located to the north of the starting location, I want the GPS to point to the north, even if the player has to go west, west, north, east, east, north to get there.

Like I said, I can create the rooms and place the “treasure” randomly without any issue. I just can’t figure out how to program the GPS itself.

Any help or links to similar code snippets would be greatly appreciated!

Well, this is how I would do something like that (conceptually) …

Give each room an “x coordinate” and a “y coordinate” (eg. the south-westernmost room could have x = 0 and y = 0; the room to its north would have x = 0 and y = 1).

To work out which direction room 2 is from room 1, find the differences in the x and y values (room 2’s values minus room 1’s values). For example, if room 1 has x = 5 an y = 3, and room 2 has x = 5 and y = 1, the x difference is 0 and the y difference is -2.