Stat States Coding

Twine Version: 2.6.2.0

Hi there, first of all thank you for taking the time to read this, and extra thank you to anyone who tries to help.

So, I am a total newbie to any kind of coding. I’m not sure why this isn’t working as from what I can find in tutorials and in replies to similar questions, it seems like it should be working? Basically, I have my stats on a scale from 1 to 11, with 6 being neutral. I want the stats page to show a different little blurb depending on how many points the stat has. Ironically, I decided to do it this way because I was struggling so much trying to make the meter macro work.

When I put in this, it works fine:

<<if $adaptable is 6>>
You are not particularly “adaptable”, or “adamant”.
<<else>>
You can be somewhat “adaptable”, though it isn’t unheard of for you to be adamant about something.
<</if>>

It does exactly what I need it to, to a limited degree. When the stat is 6, it shows the appropriate message, and then shows the other message when the stat isn’t 6. But when I tried to expand it with more options…

<<if $adaptable is 6>>
<<elseif $adaptable lt 6 and gt 3>>
You can be somewhat ''adaptable'', though it isn’t unheard of for you to be adamant about something.
<<elseif  $adaptable lt 4 and gt 1>>
You have a tendency to be ''adamant'' more often than not, which can sometimes hinder how adaptable you manage to be.
<<elseif $adaptable is 1>>
You are an extremely ''adamant'' person. No one can shake you when you’ve decided to stand your ground. Once you’ve made up your mind, that’s that. You have no time or patience for being adaptable.
<</if>>

When I put this in, the stats page doesn’t show anything at all. Am I using elseif incorrectly? The error message keeps giving me this error message: Error: <>: bad conditional expression in <> clause (#1): expected expression, got ‘>’

Am I supposed to tack something else onto the end of elseif statements or something?