Some short IFcomp reviews

Extremely sorry that it’s taken this long for me to get around to posting up some competition reviews, it’s been a really busy couple of months but I’m so glad I finally got the chance to sit down and play some of this year’s games! Still quite time-limited so I picked some of the shorter ones to start, but I’m hoping to get to some more over the weekend.

But firstly I just wanted to say a huge thanks to everyone who has taken the time to play and review No One Else Is Doing This - this is my first year entering the competition and it’s been an absolute joy reading your responses and feedback. It’s been especially interesting hearing from those of you with your own experiences of doorknocking, so thank you for sharing those. I started writing IF over ten years ago but I’ve only recently worked up the courage to get involved with the community, and it’s been a truly lovely experience. Thank you for being so welcoming.

20 Likes

Death by Lightning - Chase Capener

This is an interesting little thing, that demands a few playthroughs to really appreciate. My first run was a fairly straight-up narrative, with some noir/spy touches; the second was far more abstract, culminating in the author breaking the fourth wall; the third a doomed love story; etc., etc.

There’s some nice, neat writing in this, though the tense slipped in one place and broke my immersion slightly. There’s an impressive amount of variance built into a fairly limited number of branches, and it drew me in enough that I kept exploring more paths.

3 Likes

Hanging by threads - Carlos Pamies

I was immediately struck by the choice to use first-person instead of second-person narration, something I haven’t seen that often in IF. In this case it was quite effective, as it lends the protagonist quite a strong voice, though naturally I think it ends up sacrificing a bit of player agency in the process.