Some basic questions on coding

Hello, my name is Kory Toombs. I’m a game developer whose used RPG Maker, Visual Novel Maker, Pixel Game Maker MV, Solarus, and Ren’Py.

I’ve been trying to follow some tutorials on Youtube, but got into a bit of an issue trying to figure out how to give an item I’ve picked up to someone, then for something else to happen after that. I pretty much want things to happen if variables are true or false.

Some of the code I’m using =

Havejellyfish is a truth state that varies. Havejellyfish is false.

After taking the jellyfish:
if Havejellyfish is false:
now Havejellyfish is true;
continue the action;

an orange cat sleeping on the sidewalk is an animal in Wharf. The description of an orange cat sleeping on the sidewalk is “I kneel down and take a look at the cat. It’s an older cat that has lived most of its life on the docks. The give the cat a pat on the head, but it just yawns lazily without a care in the world. The cat obviously wont be interesting to play with.”

I want to be able to change the description of what happens with the cat if I give it the jellyfish.

is there a way to do a if or else statement?

if Havejellyfish is false:
an orange cat sleeping on the sidewalk is an animal in Wharf. The description of an orange cat sleeping on the sidewalk is “I kneel down and take a look at the cat. It’s an older cat that has lived most of its life on the docks. The give the cat a pat on the head, but it just yawns lazily without a care in the world. The cat obviously wont be interesting to play with.”

else???

You can’t put if/else conditions on the “top level” definitions in the code. However, you can put a condition within the description string:

an orange cat sleeping on the sidewalk is an animal in Wharf.
The description of an orange cat sleeping on the sidewalk is "[if Havejellyfish is false]I kneel down and take a look at the cat....[otherwise](Description to appear when havejellyfish is true)[end if]"