So it's time for...

Hi

Was a huge fan of adventures back then and have revisited some games many times.
(Huge Magnetic Scrolls fan)

I also love to write.
It so happens that I now have the time needed for doing a project like this. My wish is to recreate and further develope something I made in GAC on cbm64 way back then. (Outta memory, game itself is lost)

As a non-english speaker (natively) I am a bit in doubt over what program to choose.
I was looking into Inform7 last night and got this feeling that me not being “expert at english talker” could be an obstacle. But, although I have some programming experience, I might be put of by the technical aspect of Tad. (I tried TAD many years ago but I had to put the project aside, lack of time)

What would people in general suggests to a non-english person?

I see the point in doing Inform7, since it will also train my language skills.
On the other hand, I was quite frustrated when trying to achieve some “simple” stuff last night and maybe the logic that occurs in programming could be better.

M:)rten

Inform 6 is an option to consider, then, as it’s closer to that “logic that occurs on programming” than its latest incarnation. I7 is also a programming language, but its disguise of “something you’re casually writting” make orthodox programmers feel uneasy. You can take a look at I6 at:

inform-fiction.org/inform6.html

I have been hoping, ever since I7 came out, for a person to emerge whose English was learned entirely from I7. (Well, ideally enough people to form a small but viable language community. But we’re getting into SF territory here.)