Skip a turn

Is there a way to force skip a turn in the code? Akin to a player typing the “wait” command?

Does “silently try waiting” do what you need?

Doesn’t seem to. I’m changing a value and then hoping to skip ahead a turn so that an “every turn when…” fires as a result of that value change-- without the player prompt in between.

This is feeling like I need to finally learn what scenes are.

Oh, that makes sense – how are you changing the value? Scenes are probably the way to go, though checking out the order that your rules are being evaluated in the Index might help you figure out if there’s a way to change the value before the relevant every turn rule fires.

(I should note that I am not a programmer and a big newbie so this advice is likely bad).

Running manually everything that’s related to the turn sequence or even the every turn rules is a very easy way to shoot yourself in the foot if you don’t know exactly what you’re doing.

If there’s only one specific every turn rule that needs to be run, you can call it by name:

Every turn (this is the greeting rule):
	say "Hello there!"

Instead of jumping:
	follow the greeting rule.
2 Likes

Oh, that’s neat! As written that would print out “Hello there” twice, though, since after resolving the jumping action the greeting rule would fire as part of the ordinary every turn logic, right? So there’d need to be some clean-up code to prevent that.

Sure, but I understood that the goal is for the rule to run twice, once manually and once as part of the every turn rulebook.

True, it’s not really clear from the OP – sorry, was just thinking aloud while figuring out how this new-to-me thing works!

For some better context, I have a NPC who leaves the room a certain amount of time after the player takes an action-- in the example below I’ve made it after being examined.