Scenes vs Rooms

I am new to using Scenes instead of writing with Rooms, where the player goes from room description to room description. With Scenes, time is of the essence, and objects move on- and off-stage. I’m looking for anyone with experience using this IF7 mode.

1 Like

A lot of people on here have experience with scenes, some medium (like me) and others advanced. What’s your specific question you have about them?

A Scene is a different type of entity than a room (in Inform terms), and can be used along with Locations/Rooms - they are not mutually exclusive. For example, one might have a recurring scene that happens every ten turns to move a train object into and out of a “Train Station” location so it appears to arrive and disembark on a schedule.

I don’t believe you can write a game in I7 just composed of scenes as you would in a choice narrative, because I7 requires at least one location in the world model. Scenes are used to affect the world model and rules in different ways while they are occurring.

2 Likes

Well, that’s true but I7 narratives also encompass at least one scene (the Entire Game) even if it’s not specified in the source text.

Most IF consists of a physical map within a constant, unchanging scene. The narrative is nearly always in part paced by blocking off areas of the map until certain conditions or met- traditionally, a (sometimes interlocking) sequence of puzzles to be solved. Gradually, by gaining access to all areas of the map, the narrative is unfolded and the story completed. In this paradigm, time or the passage of time, often has little meaning and the parameters of ‘how the world works’ remain constant- the protagonist’s evolving options are governed by the acquisition of objects, and the opening-up of new areas of the map.