Running a server?

Hi Everyone.

I’m a long-time programmer, first time visitor to IF.

I’d like to author an interactive fiction and host it on the web. I know Inform can create suitable files but the rub is that I want a server to handle all of the game logic and, ideally, keep the player’s state persistent on the server.

Is this possible with any of the existing software or is this something where I’d need to roll my own? I’m not looking to run a MUD (necessarily) but just want to be able to run the game logic on the server.

Thanks for any help you can provide. I remember playing Colossal Cave and Zork on my 8-bit systems growing up. Oh, those were the days! :slight_smile:

Kind Regards,
Rebecca

I think that’s how the TADS web facility is meant to work?

In theory a Glulx game can be operated as a web service, with GlkOte as a Javascript UI client (in a web browser). Nobody’s ever put it together that way, as far as I know; there are missing pieces to fill in; but it’s a possible architecture.

Yep. TADS runs as a server, serving the game. Clients connecting to it (using a web browser) are only sent the output. The game’s byte code does not run on the client; only the UI part of the game does.

tads.org/t3doc/doc/sysman/web.htm

Why do you want to do this?

This has been done before, at ifiction.org/ for example. It’s not always awesome.

Quest works this way too. textadventures.co.uk/quest

Not sure what you’re trying to do, but maybe looking at vorple is another option. It lets you into a javascript layer where you could (I suppose! I don’t know if anybody’s doing this) call a homebrew backend with ajax calls.

Sounds like he wants to run a MUD?

Well, the original post does say

And also, Berkeley nerds named “Rebecca” just might be female…

:wink: