Review: Bolivia by Night

(Spring Thing 2005 2nd place, back when the Thing had numbered places. Still, only one review and 17 ratings. This heartfelt ode to Bolivia certainly deserves more attention. Bolivia By Night - Details (ifdb.org))

Ode to Bolivia

Hi, I’m Jacqueline Beautemps. I’m a Canadian journalist working on a temporary visa for the Bolivian Herald. Until now, Ive been mostly interviewing the lovely Bolivan people and writing articles for the lifestyle, media and cooking pages. This morning however, our star political reporter seems to have gone missing. I feel the urge to investigate…

I could just as well have been Randy Froomes from the US of A or Miss Topsy Turvy from England. The game would have remembered these bits of information from the short application form to be filled in at the start, and numerous details and customized responses would have been altered in the game-text. Rarely have I come across a game where entering “personal” information at the beginning had such an impact on the feel of the experience. Most of the time I semi-forget who my character was and just keep playing as “me-in-game”. Here I was reminded at numerous small instances of who my character was. This helped in feeling truly immersed in the game world.

The deep implementation runs throughout. There are paintings and photographs and murals and billboards to look at (many with an actual picture embedded in the game), books and newspapers to read. Very few of these are vital or even important, but they add up to a vivid world.