Restricting certain keypresses

Hi, I am new to Inform and have met a difficulty with my first project (which might be too ambitious). I am wishing to restrict certain key presses as inputs before being read by the parser. I would also like to be able to alter these restrictions at will. For example, making it so that if a player typed any of the number keys nothing would happen.

I still want the parser, but I wish to restrict input prior. I have found some things vaguely in the direction I want for this, but not quite what I am after. Would anyone be able to point me in the right direction?

Thanks.

In my first (current!) Inform 7 game I’ve got a child’s toy that does something similar - including that you can only type alphabetic keys when using it. Do you want to give more details of what you want to achieve in your game/story/project? It might be that my code could be amended for your purpose. Having the code reviewed here could help me too.

If you’re asking about line input, rather than character input, then this isn’t possible. You can’t stop the user from typing anything in, or even from pasting in some text.

Is the example of wanting the number keys to not do anything a real example? What would the purpose behind that effect be?

Couldn’t the digits be set up as terminating characters on the Z-machine? Not necessarily a good solution, as it would complicate everything else, but it seems technically possible at least.

Nope, for the Z-Machine only the function keys, numpad, and cursor keys are allowed to be terminating characters. The Glk spec also says printable characters shouldn’t be made terminating characters. Maybe you could find some work around, but it would take a lot of messy hacking, and I’m not sure what the benefit would be.

1 Like