Request for ideas and pre-introducing GrueLang

[I moved this post from ‘other authoring systems’ because this thing doesn’t actually exist yet, I figured it was a bit disingenuous]

Hello!

I’ve been playing with various IF authoring tools and I’ve found Inform 7 to be really fun to use. However, as a programmer I found it somewhat confusing to use primarily how to organize the rules in a structured manner. Inform 7 is not open source so it is not really possible to experiment with possible alternative ways of doing this organization. To try to address what I perceive as possible points for improvement I’ve started a new project to implement an IF authoring system. I’ve called the project ‘GrueLang’ so really, the hard part is over, it has a name :wink:

It has a website here: gruelang.org currently there is only a wiki here with some preliminary ideas. I’m announcing the project this early primarily to solicit some help with the design of the initial concepts.

I’m not asking for programming help, this isn’t one of those ‘I have a half assed idea please build it for me’ type things. This is a ‘I have a half assed idea can someone help me fully-ass it so I can build it.’

If you want to have access to the wiki please shoot me an email, it’s noted on the front page. But I’m also very interested in just random ideas you may have, what would your ideal IF authoring system look like?

Please place a comment on this post!

Thanks you for your time!

[edit: I just noticed that on the mobile version of the website it’s not exactly clear that it is possible to press the ‘plus’ sign in the top-left to get access to the wiki menu. I’ve added a link directly to the ‘development’ page from the start page. Sorry if anyone was confused by this.]

So far I’ve received the following feedback through various channels:

• Good tooling support, optional IDE and a package manager
  • Extension system
  • Maybe not include a conversation system because they all suck :slight_smile: