Question re Player Setting Values

I’m new to I7 so this may be a rookie error, but I am trying to allow a player to change the value to a number determined by the player.

In this case, the player will get in a car and determine how fast the car is going. Too slow and he can’t get up the hill; too fast and he crashes around the curves. But I am having a problem figuring out how to allow the player to adjust the “speed” value of the car.

Here is what I have so far, but the error seems to be in the carry out function. Depending on the coding, it either tells me I can’t change a value, or is unrecognized. I tried it with a number but then it gives me a runtime error. I have a feeling the fix is really simple and I just overlooked it. Any suggestions? Thanks.

Speed is a kind of value.  65mph specifies a speed.  65 mph specifies a speed.   A speedometer has a speed.  A speed is usually 10 mph. 

A Speedometer is scenery. Understand "sm" as speedometer. A speedometer is in the car.  Instead of examining speedometer:
	say "You are going [speed of the car].".

The verb to accelerate (he accelerates, he accelerated, it is accelerated, he is accelerating) implies the speed property.

Changed speed is a speed that varies. 

Accelerating is an action applying to one value.  Understand "accelerate to [a speed]" and "set speed to [a speed]" as accelerating.  

Check accelerating:
	if the player is not in the car, say "It's best to be in the car first." instead.

Carry out accelerating:
	now the value of the changed speed is the speed;
	let the changed speed be the speed of the car;
	say "Now the speed of the car is [speed of the car].".

Garage is a room.  "A basic garage."  Street is a room.  "A flat street."  Street is south of the garage.